Top of Page
Skip main navigation

Simulation

 

 

What is Simulation?

Citation: Lopreiato J O. Healthcare Simulation Dictionary. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; October 2016. AHRQ Publication No. 16(17)-0043.

Simulation \ sim-yuh-ley-shuh n \ noun

An active learning educational technique that creates a situation or environment to allow persons to experience a representation of a real event in a fully interactive manner, for the purpose of practice, learning, evaluation, testing, or to gain understanding of systems or human actions.

Koplow S, Morris M, Rone-Adams S, Hettrick H, Litwin B, Soontupe LB, et al. (2020). Student Experiences with Engagement in a Nursing and Physical Therapy Interprofessional Education Simulation. The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice, 18(1).

Morris, M. & Fernandez, A.  (2019) Quantity of documentation by nursing students using paper and educational electronic medical record system. Nurse educator. PAP. DOI:10.1097/NNE.0000000000000651

Samuel A. Yoders. 2017. Integration of Simulation into Healthcare Education through Applied Constructivism: A Randomized, Switching Replications Experiment. Doctoral dissertation. Nova Southeastern University. Retrieved from NSUWorks, College of Engineering and Computing. (1002) https://nsuworks.nova.edu/gscis_etd/1002

 

Debriefing

Pearls Healthcare Debriefing Tool

Center for Medical Simulation: They teach the Advocacy-Inquiry debriefing technique among other debriefing techniques and tools. They also created the DASH (Debriefing Assessment for Simulation in Healthcare)

Debrief 2 Learn: A dedicated repository for debriefing resources collated by simulation experts from all over the world

Establishing a Safe Container for Learning 

Coursera Course: Essentials in Clinical Simulation Across the Health Professions
University of Washington, Center for Health Sciences Interprofessional Research and Practice, Simulation Training 

 

Simulation Committee
Name email
Chair Melissa Morris mm2409@nova.edu
Ft. Lauderdale

 

AA Eddie Bolanos eb640@nova.edu
Aud Nannette Nicholson nnichols@nova.edu  
ExSC Monique Mokha gm588@nova.edu
OT Husny Amerih  hamerih@nova.edu
PA Watfa Krayssa  krayssa@nova.edu
PT Shari Rone-Adams srone@nova.edu
SLP Jackie Hinckley   jh988@nova.edu
Sono Jorge Han  jh1608@nova.edu
Ft. Myers
PA

Nancy Cornett  

 ncornett@nova.edu

Jacksonville
PA Megan Fink   mf1245@nova.edu
Orlando
PA PA: Melba Ovalle ovalle@nova.edu
Palm Beach
RT Lisa Farach  lfarach@nova.edu
Tampa Bay
PT Joy Moulton   jmoulton@nova.edu
Sono Sam Yoders  yoders@nova.edu
Representing PCHCS
 
Elizabeth Swann  swann@nova.edu

 

Return to top of page