College of Health Care Sciences Faculty and Staff
Faculty/Staff Directory

Timothy Miller, PT, DPT, GCS

Timothy Miller

Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy - Tampa
(813) 574-5218



Dr. Miller is board certified in Geriatric Physical Therapy from the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialization (ABPTS).  Dr. Miller also completed the APTA’s Clinical Instructional Education and Credentialing Program in May 2009.



Dr. Miller is the course leader for both of these courses, which are part of year-two curriculum of the NSU HE-DPT program. Additionally he assists teaching PHTT 6830: Neuromuscular I, as well as PHTT 6821 Musculoskeletal III.   

Scholarly Activities and Interests

Dr. Miller’s educational research interests focus on hybrid education and students’ technology preparedness for hybrid education.

Dr. Miller’s clinical research interests include neurological rehabilitation as well as balance and fall prevention.   Dr. Miller is the lead author of a Special Interest Poster titled “Physical Therapy for a patient 7 years status post stroke without previous rehabilitation.”  This abstract was one of 10 abstracts awarded Special Recognition at the 2013 APTA national conference in Salt Lake City, Utah. 

Areas of Practice

Dr. Miller’s primary practice background is in the outpatient setting where he worked as a generalist, treating a wide variety of diagnoses and patient populations.  His current PT practice focuses on geriatric rehabilitation in the skilled nursing setting.  

Professional Activity Summary

Dr. Miller has been an APTA member since 2004, and is a current member of the, Geriatric and Education sections.  He is active in the Florida Chapter, where he serves as an Assembly Representative for the West Central District.  A position which he has held since 2011.  

Within the College of Healthcare Sciences, Dr. Miller is a member of the Teaching & Learning Academy.  In the Hybrid DPT Program, Dr. Miller is Chair of the Technology Committee, a member of the Committee on Admissions, Continuing Education Committee and the Outcomes Committee.